Preparing for my Passion Project

Initially, I was planning to run a prototyping workshop for my Cohort in early December when our major projects had been handed in. However, it seems that my classmates are fairly burned out from this semester, and would rather participate next semester.

Screen Shot 2016-11-21 at 2.26.20 PM.png

I’ve put the workshop on hold for now, but I will send another Facebook survey to my cohort group in early January. I’d like to host the workshop as early as possible so it doesn’t compete with other assignments and concerns. My plan is to run a simplified version of the Maker Lab’s 2016 DHSI class, which I co-taught last summer. I’ve outlined my plan for the workshop below. At this point, the plan is still subject to change.

Part 1: Introduction to Physical Computing 

Split the class into two groups and ask them to attempt Arduino’s “Blink” program by following these direction. I will provide assistance as needed, and assemble all necessary material ahead of time, however, I’d like them to experience how accessible Arduino is even if you don’t have any experience coding.

Part 2: Introduction to Photogrammetry, 3D Scanning, and 3D Modeling 

Ask half the class to download 123D Catch on their smartphone and the other half to download 123D Design on their computer. Run through the basics of each program, and let them work in partners or groups to create a model via whichever program they prefer.

While they are working on their models, I will also run a 3D scan using the Maker Lab’s structured light scanner to show them how it can be used. Explain how creating digital models can be helpful. Discuss ways we in the MLab have used digital models.

Part 3: Introduction to digital fabrication methods

Show group a few examples of how the lab has used digital fabrication: 3D printed figures, laser-cut models, and a skull milled out by a CNC machine. Then give them a basic introduction to 123D Make and explain how DHSI students used this program to hand cut parts to make a physical version of their digital model.

Discuss how digital fabrication can be used in the classroom even if you don’t own this equipment (paying companies like Shapeways to 3D print your models, collaborating with local Maker Spaces, etc).

Conclusion: Reflect on classroom possibilities

Ask all participants to take a minute to fill in a google form reguarding how they imagine using these techniques in the classroom.

 

 

Leave a Reply

